Shigeru Ban Wins The Pritzker Architecture Prize 2014

Shigeru Ban, well-known for his projects such as Cardboard Cathedral in New Zealand and Center Pompidou Mertz in France wins 2014 Pritzker Architecture Prize.

Cardboard Cathedral
Cardboard Cathedral

He will become the second Japanese architect in a row to pick up the prestigious architecture prize, following on from last year’s winner Toyo Ito and they are the pioneers of the Japanese architectural success.

Pompidou Metz
Pompidou Metz

Ban, who says that “Receiving this prize is a great honour, and with it, I must be careful. I must continue to listen to the people I work for, in my private residential commissions and in my disaster relief work” will receive $100,000 prize on 13 June at Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam.

About Pritzker Architecture Prize:
Pritzker Architecture Prize is an annual award given by Hyatt Foundation founded in 1979 and it is for everybody- nationality, religion or ideology do not matter. The aim of the prize is honor the architects who have social conscious, want to attribute the architecture, are skillfull and have intuition.

Jay and Cindy Pritzker believed that a meaningful prize would encourage and stimulate not only a greater public awareness of buildings, but also would inspire greater creativity within the architectural profession.

Images: Shigeru Ban

||||| 0 ! |||||

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *