We Are Slowing Down!

As you may know, Seferihisar is the first slow city of Turkey since 2009, making it the Capital of Cittaslow in Turkey. Muğla-Akyaka,Çanakkale-Gökçeada, Aydın-Yenipazar and Sakarya-Taraklı which were nominated as candidates by the Seferihisar Mayor Tunç Soyer have been chosen as the new slow cities of Turkey in the meeting in recent week which was initiated by the Lidzbark Warminski Mayor Artur Wajs.



Tunç Soyer who spoke on behalf of Cittaslow Turkey at the meeting stated that Yenipazar with its local cuisine, particularly its nationwide known Pita; Taraklı with its architecture and properly restored buildings; Gökçeada with its Slow Food productions based on organic production and Akyaka being a Specially Environmental Protection Area due to its biodiversity are the most appropriate places in Turkey to become a Slow City.Akyaka Mayor AhmetÇalca, Gökçeada Mayor Yücel Atalay, Taraklı Mayor TacettinÖzkaraman and Yenipazar Mayor Yüsran Erden received Cittaslow certificates of their cities in a ceremony following the meeting. Now that Turkey has 5 Slow Cities, he has become a member of International Executive Board, which gives it a voice in decision procedure of Cittaslow organization. Turkey also gained the right to host the biggest organization of the union, Cittaslow General Board meeting in June 2013 which will have 150 mayor attending from 25 countries.



Check out following link for related articles:

The Pink Snail:”TUSCAN”

Slow City Seferihisar

||||| 0 ! |||||

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *